AREA OF PRACTICE
RESUME
TERMS AND CONDITIONS
CONTACT
 
575, avenue Brugmann
B-1180 Bruxelles
Tél +32 2 644 01 11
ck@katz-law.be
www.katz-law.be
 

 

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

  1. We undertake to use our best efforts to provide the services agreed with our client in a diligent and lawful manner and in accordance with our professional rules. We keep our client regularly informed of progress on the matters that they have assigned to us and we put forward those measures designed to protect its interests.
     
  2. Unless agreed otherwise, our professional liability is limited to an amount of 1.000.000€ per matter in respect of all the lawyers working on the matter. This amount corresponds to the cover that the Brussels Bar has subscribed as our professional liability insurance.
     
  3. We remind our client that in accordance with the Law of 12 January 2004 on money-laundering we may be obliged to obtain from him/her certain information based on specified documents with a view to its/her identification at such time as we first enter into a professional relationship with him/her.
     
  4. Our client is informed of the name of the lawyer(s) who are responsible for his/her file. We reserve the right to sub-contract particular aspects of the matter to external lawyers.
     
  5. We undertake to inform our client of the various legal solutions open to him/her and to put into effect, with the greatest possible diligence, the particular solution agreed with our client. Unless he/she promptly issues instructions to the contrary, our client is presumed to agree and accept the strategic choices that we recommend, as such appear from our correspondence with the client, in respect of actions and procedures to be undertaken or commenced.
     
  6. Unless agreed otherwise, our fees are calculated on the basis of the time spent on the matter. The applicable hourly rate is communicated in writing to our client prior to work beginning on their file. Any variation in these rates or in the scale of charges in respect of expenses will only be applied after it has been communicated to our client.
     
  7. In addition to fees calculated on the basis of hourly rates, we reserve the right to also charge our client a success fee of 10 to 15 % of the amounts at stake, including principal and interest, depending on the nature of the matter and the result obtained.
     
  8. Expenses incurred in providing our services are charged out to client as a lump-sum percentage of fees, calculated in accordance with the following scale: 
     
    • Opening, closing and archiving for 5 years of file: 50 € 
    • Correspondence (e-mail, and letters), per page: 10 € 
    • Document typing, per page: 10 € 
    • Photocopies, per page: 0,25 € 
    • Travel by car, per kilometre: 0,50 € 
    • Other expenses: At cost

     
  9. Irrespective of the expense-charging method chosen and communicated in writing to our client at the beginning of work on their file, all services, court and related costs (writ costs, bailiff expenses, expert, translation costs etc.) are in any event charged out to our client at cost.
     
  10. The statements of fees, expenses and costs that we send to our client are payable immediately in cash. In the event of late payment, late payment interest and collection costs are due and payable in accordance with the Law of 2 August 2002 on the fight against late payment in commercial transactions.
     
  11. In general, requests for retainers or intermediate statements are regularly sent to our client. The latter may request us at any time to send him/her an intermediate statement.
     
  12. The amount that may possibly be obtainable from the other party as a contribution to legal costs is calculated according to Article 1022 of the Judicial Code.
     
  13. Our obligation to provide service shall in any event cease at the latest at such time as we send our final statement of fees and expenses to our client.
     
  14. We are free to choose the bailiffs that act on behalf of our client. The choice of other service-providers (notary, chartered auditor, technical advisor etc) is made after consultation with the client.
     
  15. Unless agreed otherwise, we are responsible for the archiving of files, which includes the keeping of the principal elements in a file for a period of five years as well as the possibility of consulting and making copies of same during the said period. In the absence of any request to the contrary during the said five years the entire file will be destroyed at the end of the said period.
     
  16. Our relationship with our client is governed by Belgian law and any dispute in respect thereof shall be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the Courts of Brussels, without prejudice to the jurisdiction of our bar authorities to which we are subject with respect to our professional rules and disputes as to fees.

COMPETENCES
CV
CONDITIONS D'INTERVENTION
CONTACT
 
575, avenue Brugmann
B-1180 Bruxelles
Tél +32 2 644 01 11
ck@katz-law.be
www.katz-law.be
 

 

CONDITIONS D'INTERVENTION

  1. Nous nous engageons à fournir nos meilleurs efforts en vue de l’exécution diligente des missions que nous confie le client dans le respect des lois et de la déontologie. Nous informons régulièrement celui-ci de la progression des missions qu’il nous confie et proposons les mesures propres à préserver ses intérêts.
     
  2. Sauf stipulation particulière, notre responsabilité ne peut en aucun cas être engagée au-delà d’un montant de 1.000.000 euros par dossier pour l’ensemble des avocats qui interviennent dans l’affaire. Ce montant correspond à celui de l’assurance R.C.professionnelle souscrite par l’Ordre français des avocats du barreau de Bruxelles.
     
  3. Le client ne nous tiendra pas rigueur des demandes que nous sommes tenus de lui adresser, conformément aux exigences de la loi du 12 janvier 2004 relative à la prévention du blanchiment, en vue de procéder à son identification sur la base de documents probants au moment où nous ouvrons le dossier.
     
  4. Le client est informé du nom du ou des avocats qui assurent le traitement de son dossier. Nous pouvons librement confier des missions particulières à d’autres avocats extérieurs, ce dont nous avisons notre client.
     
  5. Nous nous engageons à informer notre client des différentes solutions juridiques qui s'offrent à lui et à mettre en oeuvre, avec le plus de diligence possible, la solution choisie avec notre client. Sauf contre ordre exprès et immédiat, celui-ci est présumé accepter les choix stratégiques posés, tels qu'ils se déduisent des courriers envoyés, des initiatives prises ou des procédures mises en oeuvre.
     
  6. Sauf convention particulière, nos honoraires sont calculés en fonction du temps consacré à la mission. Le taux horaire en vigueur est précisé au client par écrit dès le début du traitement de son dossier. Toute modification de ce taux ou de la grille des frais ne sera d’application qu’après avoir été portée à la connaissance du client.
     
  7. Outre les honoraires calculés sur la base du taux horaire, nous nous réservons de porter en compte au client un honoraire de résultat. Celui-ci est fixé, sauf convention contraire, entre 10 et 15 % des montants en jeu en principal et intérêts et ce en fonction notamment de la nature de l’affaire et du résultat obtenu.
     
  8. Les frais exposés pour l’exécution des missions qui nous sont confiées sont portés en compte au client soit selon un pourcentage des honoraires, soit selon la grille suivante :
     
    • ouverture, clôture et archivage du dossier pendant 5 ans : 50 euros
    • correspondance (e-mail et courrier) : par page : 10 euros
    • document dactylographié, par page : 10 euros
    • photocopie, la pièce : 0,25 euro
    • frais de déplacement, par km : 0,50 euro
    • autres frais : à prix coûtant
       
  9. Quelle que soit la méthode de facturation des frais choisie et précisée au client par écrit dès le début du traitement de son dossier, les débours (frais de justice, d’huissier, d’expert, de traducteur etc.) sont en tout état de cause portés en compte au client, à prix coûtant.
     
  10. Les états d’honoraires, de frais et de débours que nous adressons sont payables au comptant. En cas de carence, les intérêts et les frais de recouvrement sont portés en compte sur la base de la loi du 2 août 2002, relative à la lutte contre les retards de paiement dans les transactions commerciales.
     
  11. En règle, des provisions ou des états intermédiaires sont régulièrement adressés au client. Celui-ci peut à tout moment nous demander de lui soumettre un état intermédiaire.
  12. Le montant qui pourrait éventuellement être demandé à la partie adverse à titre d’intervention dans les frais de défense de notre client est calculé conformément à l’article 1022 du Code judiciaire.
     
  13. Notre mission se termine en tout état de cause et au plus tard lorsque nous adressons notre état de frais et honoraires final.
     
  14. Nous choisissons librement les huissiers de justice qui interviennent pour le compte de notre client. Le choix d’autre tiers dont le concours est utile (notaire, réviseur, conseil technique, etc.) n’est opéré qu’après concertation.
     
  15. Sauf contre ordre, nous prenons en charge l’archivage des dossiers qui comprend la conservation des éléments principaux de ceux-ci pendant une durée de cinq ans et la possibilité d’en prendre connaissance ou copie pendant la même période. Sauf demande expresse formulée endéans ce délai, le dossier est intégralement détruit au terme de cette période.
     
  16. Notre relation est soumise au droit belge et tout litige relatif à celle-ci est de la compétence exclusive des juridictions de Bruxelles, sans préjudice à la compétence des instances ordinales dont nous relevons en matière de déontologie et de contestation d’honoraires.